Innovations in Reading Prize


The National Book Foundation

The National Book Foundation’s annual Innovations in Reading Prize awards $10,000 to an individual or organization for developing a project which creates and sustains a lifelong love of reading.

Each year, the National Book Foundation’s Innovations in Reading Prize awards $10,000 to an individual or organization that has developed an innovative project which creates and sustains a lifelong love of reading in the community they serve. In addition, the Foundation recognizes up to four projects to receive the designation of honorable mention.

Applications for the 2020 Innovations in Reading Prize are now open. Applications are due by 11:59 pm EST on February 13, 2020.

If you have questions, please contact Jordan Smith at [email protected] or call 212.685.0261.

Who is eligible?
Individuals and U.S.-based non-profit organizations are eligible for this prize. Previous winners can apply for new initiatives.

What is the prize?

  • There are up to four honorable mentions, and one winner of a $10,000 prize
  • Announcements via the press, social media, our newsletter, and on the NBF website
  • Invitation to present at National Book Foundation’s annual Why Reading Matters conference (next conference slated for June 2020; details forthcoming).

What are we looking for?
Applicants should:

  • Share the National Book Foundation’s mission to expand the audience for literature in America;
  • Focus on reading, and not exclusively literacy skills;
  • Demonstrate innovation in mission, approach, and/or audience/community served;
  • Apply for an existing program/project/initiative with evidence of success—as Innovations in Reading is a prize and not a grant, the goal is to reward work already underway, encouraging it to continue and/or expand.
  • We strongly encourage applicants to read about past winners to get a sense of programs we support.

How is a winner chosen?
Each year, National Book Foundation assembles a panel of literary professionals to serve as reviewers. Applications are reviewed by the panel, who select a set of finalists. Finalists are then presented to the National Book Foundation Board of Directors for final selections.

The 2020 winner and honorable mentions will be announced the first week of May.

How do I apply?
Complete the online application forms. Forms become available on January 6, 2020 at 9am EST via the National Book Foundation website. The application deadline is February 13, 2020 at 11:59pm EST.

Note: there are two steps and two distinct forms that must be completed as part of the application process; both forms must be submitted by the deadline in order for your application to be complete:

  • Application Registration (administered via Google Forms)
  • Application Narrative (administered via Submittable)

You may submit your own application, or nominate an organization or individual’s project (please notify the nominee you are submitting an application for the Innovations in Reading Prize on their behalf).

You will need the following information and materials:

Application Registration

  • Applicant’s contact information

Application Narrative

  • Two reference letters from individuals familiar with the work of the applicant (if you are nominating an organization or individual, you can write one of the reference letters)
  • Two short narratives (each 1,000 words or less) that describe:
  • Mission & History, including: mission statement, the year the organization or project was founded, staff size, number of people served annually, and annual operating budget.
  • Project Narrative, including: project name and description, information about the community served, and a detailed description of how the project creates and sustains a love of reading in your community in an innovative way.

Please direct any questions about the application process to Jordan Smith, [email protected].

Opportunity Opens

Monday, Jan 13th 2020

Opportunity Closes

Thursday, Feb 13th 2020, 11:45pm

Application Location

MN Artists