The Stella Maris Chapel is a fixture on the grounds of the St John's Abbey in Collegeville MN. The chapel is located across Lake Sagatagan from the rest of the campus of the Abbey and University.
The Chapel was first constructed in the late 1800's and renovated in the 1940's and again most recently in the mid 2000's. It is a stone and concrete structure that is a icon for the community and the trail leading to the chapel has become a right of passage for everyone who visits the community.
The trail meanders along the shore of Lake Sagatagan and through the woods of maple, oak, basswood, pine and many other tree species that grow on 2400 acres maintained by the Benedictine monks.
The first Stella Maris Chapel stick was a gift to the St John's Arboretum as a donation for there annual event and was auctioned off as a fund raiser for them. Everyone who saw the beautiful work was impressed by the detail and how it captured the essence of the trail experience.
Eskimo on Cedar Walking Stick
St John's Abbey Bell Tower & St Benedict Monestary Chapel
Bible Verse Walking Stick
Antsy's family tree cane
St John's Abbey Stella Maris Chapel Tail Walking Stick
Spirit Face Walking Stick
Lake Wobegon Trail walking stick